Songs for July

I am a Hindi songs buff. The typical kinds who plug in earphones and walk on roads as if they are 70s ka heroes contemplating life and losses. A good number of times it is natural but then sometimes there’s acting skill at work. On other times I would be lying on the bed watching TV and get onto 9XM and it plays “Balam Pichkaari” and I’m jumping my way off with wackiest expressions. You get me,right?

I love Hindi poetry and when words get weaved into lyrics then music,that’s magic. I enjoy tracing a song’s backward journey-when it was just a collection of words.
For English songs I am a novice. I caught up on few famous numbers only to survive among people who think English songs and GOT are essentials of existence.

So here I have a list of 10 songs that I have given my heart to this July. Do tell me in the comments section if you like any of these:-

1) Raske bhare tore Nain
  Shafqat Amanat Ali, Satyagraha

This singer injects the words in your blood. If you have listened to ‘Fir le aaya Dil‘ you’ll know what I mean.
Raske bhare…  catches you at the first note. Classical,soulful and perfect chakna to your chai.

            

image

2) Nain Parindey
  Shilpa Rao, Lafangey Parindey

You know Shilpa Rao’s husky calming voice from ‘Manmarziyaan‘. She grabs you,holds your nerve and takes you wherever the song goes.And the lyrics work wonders to a dreamy heart.
       “पंख झटक ये उड़ जाएंगे
       सपनों को अपने घर लाएन्गें
       मगरूर बडे मतवारे नैन
        नैन परिन्दे पगले दो नैन”
        

image

3) A Certain Romance:-
   Arctic Monkeys

I got introduced to this phenomenon called Arctic Monkeys very recently(what a pity!). What I loved about them is that they know the things they do are not supposed to be that way.They do it nonetheless. And so wonderfully. This particular song,I love it for the guitar and bass. Lyrics secondary.

4) Saawan Bairi:-
   Rahat Fateh Ali Khan, Commando

Monsoon. Rahat Saab. Sigh.
I have come along to admire Mayur Puri as a lyricist. He is so versatile. Does the peppy numbers as good as the deep ones. This song has some really passionate and power phrases and intimidating imagery.
   “छू लू जो, तुझे छू लू तो,
     खुद को ही चुभ जाऊं”

        

image

5) Mere Piya Gaye Rangoon
  Shamshaad Begum, Patanga

There’s no way you do not recall her when you think “Retro”. The millenial kids would know the remixes of her songs with the dance steps. That also introduced us to Deepal Shaw,Barkha Bisht, Sophie Chaudhary, Tanushree Dutta. This song has all it takes you tickle your funnybones.

Oh and here we are,dancing it off 😛
  

6) Million Years Ago:-
   Adele

There are days when I have played this song for hours on loop. There’s melancholy,there’s nostalgia and there’s an attitude to it. Each single line telling a story of its own.
   “Learning to run
    I let my heart decide the way
    When I was young
    Deep down I must have always
    known,
    That this would be inevitable
      

image

7) Sau Tarah Ke
    Jonita Gandhi, Amit Mishra Dhishoom  

You don’t listen to this song. You watch it. Because,Jacqueline. How could somebody look so so sensuous and cute the same time? That’s teaching. The song is mean,peppy and a for sure entry to party albums this year.

     

image

8) Woh pehli baar
     Shaan

Shaan means old school romance to me. His voice is love. He breathes soft magic to words. And this song has an absoulte charm about it;takes you to the lala land.

9) Behke behke nain
    Anushka Manchanda,Aisha

Have you heard this song? No? Do it on priority. Maybe they do jazz on such music. The music just matches pace with your heartbeat and then raises it and plays around. Anushka’s voice is sexy. That would still be an understatement. And Sonam looks like a dream in it.
    

image

10) Awari
      Soch,The Band. Ek villain

The word Awari itself does something to thoughts. The music is enticing. Lyrics so deep and painful,you almost cry. And Prachi Desai. Sigh.
    

image

Source-Indicine

  

12 comments

  1. bloggeray · July 24, 2016

    I have heard/played only 3 of the 10 or so songs you mentioned. Would have to check Arctic Monkeys, Million years and that Dishoom song out. After all, Jacqueline is Jacqueline. 😍😍
    Thanks for the post. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • The Anaari Drum · July 24, 2016

      Heyyy! First of all I am sorry that I couldn’t reply to your mail. And a big THANK YOU for your mail,it was really comprehensive and helpful.

      And the songs,listen to them all. You’ll love them. Jacqueline haha,yeaah! 😀 Thank you for dropping by

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Suchitra · July 24, 2016

    I considered myself a Hindi song buff but there are a few songs on this list that I have never heard before. Thanks to your list I am gonna check them out 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Avinash Rh · July 25, 2016

    I’d like to add one more:
    “Main Rahoon ya na rahoon”
    Single by Amaal Malik featuring Emraan Hashmi and Esha Gupta.
    Awesome song and good story.
    Here’s the link :

    Liked by 1 person

    • The Anaari Drum · July 25, 2016

      Oh yes,it’a wonderful song. The Malik brothers are taking the industry by storm. Thank you for dropping by. Happy reading 🙂

      Like

  4. ashu777 · July 31, 2016

    beautifully narrated..and well picked playlist!!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. miithoun · August 3, 2016

    Though this is a instrumental song- you may like it.!!!

    Like

  6. miithoun · August 3, 2016

    Though this is an instrumental song- you may like it.!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • The Anaari Drum · August 4, 2016

      Omg! I loved it. It’s a treat to ears. Thank you so much for sharing it 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

