Meet Seema Bhoi,the Maths hating entrepreneur

Do you like stories,and people,and people with stories to tell? Do you feel like sitting with people and just listening to what they have gathered by far in terms of experience? For me,it could be my career. I love listening. I love finding stories that I relate to,and I doubly love those that I don’t relate to because they open up a whole new opportunity to see fresh struggles and dreams and victories and failures.
For the very same reason,I bring to you this MEET series,wherein I will put forth you,interviews of people who I personally admire. Every human is a fighter and survivor. I will bring to stories to celebrate the people who probably walk with you on the subway or travel with you in the Metro and you have no idea how inspiring can they be.I start this with Seema.

Seema Bhoi,is what becomes when hell lot of ATP gets packaged in a single body of cells. She is the co-founder of Vibaantta Group and Meethi Lassi.
Find more on http://www.meethilassi.com  and
http://www.vibaantta.com

Being an excellent content strategist,she deals in online and social media marketing,management and business development. She took to the startup route when she realized she isn’t the typical 9-5 person. Let’s just get to what this woman has to say to us.

IMG_1576.JPG

So the preface,what is your family background? Basically tell me how did Seema Bhoi grow up? What kind of a child and teenager were you?
I grew up in a liberal family! Very supportive and loving parents. I could get away with anything, but sadly I was a good child. A no-nonsense person and never took advantage of it…I should have! I would have had a bunch of good stories to tell you… As a teenager I barely had much fun outside home. Childhood was more into painting, crafts and debates. Leave me with paint, brushes and canvas, and I was a happy kid! I thought I’ll be a painting artist one day.

Tell me about your academic history, the kind of student you were, your favorite subjects. Anything remarkable that shaped up your mind?
Though I was always a sincere student, but I was not great with grades. I had difficulty in learning, understanding and memorizing things, but nobody gave me a hard time about it, except this one teacher! Haha!

Ah! Why did you ask about my favorite subject? It reminded me of subject I was bad at. I can’t say I had a favorite subject, but I’ll tell you about the one that gave me nightmares! I have never been great with mathematics. Till today, I struggle with my company accounts. I remember, my father putting his efforts making me solve mathematical problems. I am that terrible with numbers that even today he takes care of my accounts.

What was life after college? What were your plans? Did they work out? Did you take up a job?
As soon as I finished college, I knew years to come will be only corporate job, but for not long. I took up an executive job to start with and jumped from companies to companies to figure out whether is it what I want to do.

Your plans don’t work every time. And that’s why I say, keep plan B ready. As you can see today, that life did not work out. But yes, it did pave the way for where I am today.

Why did you leave job to take the entrepreneurial route? What was the inspiration?
Working as a paid employee, justifying your salary each day and saying yes to things you don’t agree with was not making me happy. The culture of running every morning to catch bus/metro just to punch in sharp at 9:00 am was somewhere not fitting in. I do not want people working with me to go through all this. All that was happening wrong was the inspiration.

10384832_10152396698998863_6412077784161339897_n

How was Vibaantta born? How did the child grow? Also, what does Vibaantta mean. What happens at Vibaantta?
Vibaantta was born years ago but did not have a name. Fortunately, business partner Paras Sachdev came in with motivation to materialize the idea to take it a level up. Vibaantta grew with immense support of both our families. Credit also goes to friends and everybody who have unknowingly contributed. We are glad that, in the journey, we added many clients who are now a vital part of Vibaantta family.

Vibaantta means living, alive, as opposed to the life I was living as a corporate slave. According to numerology, Vibaantta deemed fit. We help startups and established brands flourish on digital platforms offering services that includes, Radio advertisements, Newspaper advertisements, Social Media Marketing, Content Production etc.

How is Vibaantta doing now? Would you like to share few statistics?
We are in the 3rd year now. We plan to expand in other cities and overseas hereafter. We already have our network working across the country and representatives overseas. Our clientele includes both international and domestic brands. Today we have more than 100 writers and editors and have teamed up with various small and medium content agencies.

What are your personal creative interests? What is your idea of art?
I barely get time to even think about personal interests. Work keeps me occupied all 365 days. However, since the work itself is creative, you will find me multi-tasking between logo designs, brochures, advertisements, stories, write-ups etc.

Art to me is expressing your ideas visually!

What is the working culture at Vibaantta? Do you hire interns?
Experiencing the job culture in India for over 6 years, I never wanted to adopt a 9 to 5 work culture. We work all day and party all day! At our battle ground, there is no hierarchy and there are no bosses. Every individual working with us is a next entrepreneur. Vibaantta proudly says – nurturing entrepreneurs of tomorrow.

There is a huge opportunity for interns here. They work on live projects and get to learn with other team members at the hub.

Although I really hope this question stops existing but tell me, what is it like for a woman to step out in the market? Throw light on your struggles and experiences.
I have personally experience both advantages and disadvantages of being a woman. Trust me there are more benefits of being a business woman. I also can’t deny the fact that men in life have been pillar support to get me here. My father being a constant support throughout and business partner Paras Sachdev in all these years. I am glad that it has been painless struggle because of these two people.
When I started, I was only told that it’s not for women. Let me shout at those through this medium, that I am still doing it and you are most welcome to join. Like others, even I get to listen, that it’s going to be over after marriage. You have to remember that it’s not easy but it’s not impossible

What is your vision for Vibaantta 5 years from now? And where do you see yourself 5 years from now?

Vibaantta Group is slowly extending wings and we are working on various ventures with like-minded people. Few are crazy ideas and few being something that will help the society/industries.

Life looks complicated today between, work, family and relationships. I am a happy lucky person today, and don’t think it can be any better than this. I wish to see simple life ahead. Few years from now, if all plans work accordingly there will be multiple digital assets.

Apart from work what else does Seema indulge in?
There comes an interesting one! I watch a lot of food videos, I am bollywood movie fan…Sundays are about movies only. I watch a lot of inspirational videos. I read and follow Robin Sharma. I am big fan of Zakhir Khan (the standup comedian).. His videos are like stress buster.

One cause that you passionately believe in.
A helping hand for the ones in need.

Any message to the world out there?
That’s my favorite question! Message goes out to the parents, who still think their children will fulfill their dreams. We need to accept the fact that every child is genius. All he needs is your support to flourish. Who knew selling grocery online will be a big business today.

You can conact Seema here:-

https://incom/in/seemabhoi.linkedin.

https://www.facebook.com/seemabhoi

Email her at seemabhoi@vibaantta.com

10426787_10152291255283863_8015791325528147344_n

 

 

 

 

4 comments

  1. Nisha · July 1, 2016

    Grt inspiration for the youth who want to be independent…and thanks Archi for ur efforts to let us know abt her..I hope in future as well u ll make us meet with people who r doing something amazing and working differently from the stereotyped way of working, in a more lively way …luv u keep ur work going !!!!

    Like

  2. Prashant mahajan · July 1, 2016

    this was such a inspirational intrrview and all the best Archita u r dng a gr8 job …..
    Its a great way to know abt different people out there…..thnk u Archita for bringing such stories

    Like

Leave a Reply

