‘FOG’ Chal raha hai

I really have no idea ‘Fogg’ chal raha hai ya nahi,but the advertisement has got on people’s nerves lately. God bless Fogg. This post is for my eternal love for winter. I am writing this wrapped in the blanket and the earphone echoing “Raat ke humsafar,thak ke ghar ko chale“. If only there were words to praise the blanket..if only.

Winters are special due to many fond memories. The foggy haze at times has cleared up so many apprehensions of my mind. To me,winters have been the warmest times to rejoice the bonds we cherish most. The chill in the air is bound to get humans closer(Not in that way,sicko!). I rate myself okayish on the scale of romance,and winter gives wings to it. Romance,I choose to believe is any human feeling that is exvlusive for two souls. So if your Mom scolds you for not having milk,that moment,that feeling is exclusively for the two of you. It is irreplacable and this is what I think the core of romance. So I can find romance in breakfast,classroom,a specific tree,anything. Romance grows exponentially in winters.

So here I have ten romances strictly glorified by winters:-

image

Source- Pooja Saxena

           Source-Pooja Saxena

1) Coffee : Need I say more? If coffee was female,I would have been a perfect womanizer. Latte,mocha,espresso,cappuchino,ask me to differentiate between them and I will give exact concentration ratios. Winter is coffee’s boyfriend. Why else would coffee look,taste and feel beautiful like never before. Now you know where to take me on a date.

image

2) Chai: Being born and brought up in a family that thinks chai is as important as the meals,this just had to be in the list. Coffee is my first love and chai,my extra marital affair. Ever had the chance to sit at a local chaiwaala,dip Parle-G in the cup and enjoy the bliss? If not,do it on priority.

image

3)The winter gear : Furry coats,knit caps,mufflers,gloves- I felt so.dumb as a child when Maa layered me up. As a 20 year old, it hardly matters. Coats are my new love and bright sweaters,the.mew addiction.

image

Source-myprettybride.com

        Source-myprettybride.com

4)Gaajar ka halwa: Moong daal ka halwa,kadaahi waala doodh..food basically. The usual momos become tastier on winter evenings. Delicacies become heavenly in winters.

image

5) Long walks: Walking alone or hand in hand with a soulful company,thinking of oddities of life,indulging in meaningless conversations is my idea of being alive in winter.

image

6) Sunshine: Basking on the terrace,letting sun rays find way from your eyes to heart,feeling warm and drowsy..God blesses us in uncountable manners. This one,is the best.

image

Source-allyouneedisaneggplant.wordpress.com

7)Gajak Rewari: Chakki,gud ki patti,til ke laddu,moongfali..no match at all. They have been our favorite winter accomplice ever since we had proper set of teeth.

image

8) Picnics: Flashback..winter holidays,going to park,spreading the mat,playing badminton,gorging on snacks..the good old days. Anyone who wants to do this again,ping me now.

image

Veer Zaara

            Source- Veer Zaara
9)Bonfire: Precisely,this nails it. As a child,in my village elders used to talk incomprehensible laws of life around the bonfire and I used to roast green peas,potatoes and sweet potatoes. Talk about opportunist cook.

image

10)Love: Love has no season but winter owns it a little more. Christmas,New year,Makar Sankranti,Lohri..they bring us closer to our friends and relatives and accentuate the love in the air.

How many of these made you nostalgic? If you have your own cherished winter moments,do share them in the comments.

Warm hugs and smiles.

10 comments

  1. Anshul Agarwal · January 22, 2016

    well overall im no fan of winters ..per ab baat ched hi dee hai toh ..
    sardee ki dhoop
    dil ko letii hai loot
    naa bhi lagey bhookh
    toh chalega ek cup garam soup
    hahahah ..

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Vibhu · January 22, 2016

    Winters ki baat hi nirali hai, dher sari yaadon ko samet rakha hai iss mausam ne apne chadar mai @archita tumhare iss blog ne purani yaadon ki pyari si gharmasht de di. #village #bonefire #sweetpotato #pea #gajar ka halwa #special bhaji.
    Love it👍

    Liked by 1 person

    • The Anaari Drum · January 22, 2016

      Sabse pehle toh shukriya! Aap hamaare blog par aaye aur is khubsurat comment ke liye. agar mera post apko bhi apke bachpan me le ja paya,toh koshish safal rhi. Aate rahiye yaha.

      Like

  3. Passions · January 22, 2016

    Oh this is just perfect!! And I loved the extra marital affair bit :-D. But my most favourite thing about winter is, you know when the little clouds of vapour come out of your mouth. I know it is a bit childish, but that is the thing right, doing that never gets old!

    Like

    • The Anaari Drum · January 22, 2016

      Firstly,thank you for dropping by and your lovely words Passions. And yes! That feeling. Telling friends that look I’am smoking. Indeed you reminded of something even I love doing

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Prashant mahajan · January 22, 2016

    as a child i used to roast sweet potatoes in bon fire literally evryday with my frnds nd this is the most nostalgic memory i can remember abt winters…it was so much….nd also after that the coals with ash were collected in a kangri ( a basket made up of wood…no so common in delhi bt in kashmir) …it is very effective thing to warm blankets…..

    thank you so much @Archita for briging up those beautiful memories…

    Like

    • The Anaari Drum · January 22, 2016

      Purpose totally served if i was able to do that. Thank you for sharing your memories Prashant

      Like

  5. smriti · January 22, 2016

    Winters had been my favourite too , wen I used to b at home …we all used to get under the blanket and gossip for hours having tea ,playing games ….but now wen m at hostel..miles away from my house ..I feel it depresses me …d winds are too cold …too harsh …they used to b a bliss , that’s once upon a time .moms chicken soup …Winters mk me feel d coldness d distance cn mk u feel .
    Anyway …I m waiting for the winters wen I will b home . N that will again b a bliss . Wrapped in moms care .

    Like

    • The Anaari Drum · January 22, 2016

      This just unfolded another aspect of winter,and this i can feel is real cold. I genuinely am gratified that you chose to share your nostalgia with me. I truly wish you get to rejoice a warm winter with your loved ones. Till then,a virtual hug Smriti

      Like

Leave a Reply

